Nerdy, Crafty, Foodie Things

March 30, 2012 § Leave a comment

So in my typical fashion, I started out the year saying, I’m going to post SEVERAL TIMES A WEEK! Then by the end of January, I’m spent. Well, I have been feeling compelled to write a post here for a couple of weeks now to try to get back on track, so here goes!

Since I last wrote, a lot has happened. With the help of an amazing committee, I planned and threw the 2012 Addy Awards, the biggest awards show in Atlanta for the ad industry. The theme for this year was Vintage Circus, and it was fabulous. You want some pics you say? Why sure!

We held the event at The Foundry at Puritan Mill this year, and it was an AMAZING space- exactly what we needed.

Since the theme was around Circus, I made about 70 balloon animals to use as parts of a circus-themed centerpiece. Here we have a tiger, an elephant, and a pig.

You gotta have a minstrel band.

My co-chair Mibbie and I after our speaking parts were over. Whew!

In the world of craft, I finally finished a pair of gloves that I had been working on as a gift for what felt like forever.

They were knit on a pair of DPN using KnitPicks City Tweed yarn in Orca. They were well received by their recipient, although I will say that the ridiculously warm winter that we experienced in Atlanta this year made many of my wares go little used. 😦 I also made my first sale on Etsy! Super excited about that and about stocking up the store with some new items for Spring and summer. Gift wise, I just received the materials to get started on a new super secret project for a pregnant friend’s soon-to-be-in-existence baby.

In nerdy news, I went to see Hunger Games on opening night with some friends and ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT. No complaints. I finally finished my 18-month long project of reading the first 5 books in the Song of Ice and Fire series (OMG books 3 and 5 separately blew me away), and am UNBELIEVABLY excited about the advent of Season 2 this weekend. I’m also very intrigued by the recently released trailer for Prometheus, coming out later this summer.

And in FOODIE news- one of the main reasons I’ve faltered in my postings on this site lately are because I actually launched a NEW blog along with three of my good foodie friends, Southern Bellies (southernbelliesblog.com). This site basically just focuses on everything about eating, drinking, and socializing in the South. What is our main goal? Just to go to amazing foodie events, eat a lot of delicious food, and have a great time. So far, we’ve been really successful! I know for a fact that the Editor at Food & Wine Magazine has seen our blog, and it’s only been actually LIVE for a little over two weeks! Go check it out! I am more likely to be posting there more often moving forward, but I will still check in here to let my nerdy/crafty side have a chance to express itself.

Anyways, Happy Game of Thrones weekend to you all! I’ll write again soon, I promise…

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Nerdy, Crafty, Foodie Things at whimzeerealm.

meta

