Hat for my Pops

January 24, 2011 § Leave a comment

Happy Monday all! I just wanted to pop on really quickly to post about something I recently completed- a crocheted wool earflap hat with fleece lining for my Pops. This was one of his Christmas gifts that I just needed a little more time on. To give you some background, this is my Pops:

As you can see, he is a little short on protective layers (errr, HAIR) for his head/ears. And he spends more time than I would like outside in the cold. So, I figured I’d at least make it a little cozier for him by providing him this hat. And here it is! Just a note- if it looks kinda big and bulky on me, that’s because it was made to fit my DAD, not me- I have a teeny tiny little head.

After I had crocheted the hat (which wasn’t really based on any particular pattern) from navy Lion’s Brand Wool-Ease yarn, I still thought it didn’t offer the kind of warmth I was looking for, so I decided to add in a lining- some navy fleece. after some tugging and finagling and trying to figure out how the hell people line hats, I finally produced a product I am happy with.

I know with the temps we’ve been seeing lately, my dad is anxious to get his hat! In other crafty progress- I’ve started stockpiling a little collection of scarves that I hope to photograph and list on Etsy this week, and have completed one of Glenn’s gloves- the other is cast on, but not close to finished. I hope to have that project complete within the week, though!

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Hat for my Pops at whimzeerealm.

meta

