Looking forward to…

January 12, 2011 § 1 Comment

Ahh, “Hoth”lanta, Day 3. Yes, the ice and snow are STILL so bad here in the city that my agency has closed the office and instituted Work From Home policy for the third day in a row. And watching the cars slip and slide their way down North Ave. right outside my apartment, I gotta say, I’m glad to NOT be driving in it.

I ALSO have to say though, I am going STIR.CRAZY. I did manage to get out and meet my friend Katie and her husband Stephen for lunch at Java Vino yesterday ($3 wine!!), and then to walk over to meet a couple friends for a showing of the Social Network at the Plaza theater last night, but I am really craving some real, extended human contact here. Glenn and I went to see Tangled over the weekend, and there is one scene near the beginning in which Rapunzel does a musical number to show how she passes her days locked in the tower- and in the beginning she is excited to get started with her cleaning, reading, knitting, painting, etc., but by the end, she is bored, lonely, and sad- that’s EXACTLY how I feel by today! Tangled was, by the way, exactly how I wanted it to be, and I was very hesitant- I’ve been following the progress on this movie ever since they announced “The Rapunzel Project” about 5-6 years ago. GREAT JOB, Disney!

Now that that VERY HIGHLY ANTICIPATED project (at least, highly-anticipated by ME!) is in the can, I thought it would be a good day to talk about the UPCOMING projects that I am excited about!

First, there’s an animated French film called The Illusionist. I first blogged about this back in June, but for those of you who missed that post, this classically hand-drawn, 2-D film is about an aging and increasingly irrelevant magician who meets a young girl who will change his life forever. As much as I enjoy the 3-d renderings of most animated films these days, sometimes I really yearn for the old, hand-drawn cartoons of yore- and this one looks so well done. This will be out in theaters early February- it’s def on my list as a must-see!

Secondly, there’s an upcoming show being produced for HBO called Game of Thrones. I’ve also written about THIS show before, which is based on George R.R. Martin’s seven-book series of the same name, in which seven noble families fight for the control of the land of Westeros. It’s a little more based in reality than Lord of the Rings, but still a fantasy epic (minus the mythical creatures). I’ve started reading the first book in the series (finishing it is my reading goal for this month), and so far, I’m enjoying it! Here’s the most recent trailer- the show premieres April 17. Right in time for my 6-month free preview of HBO to be ending. Boooooo….

Lastly, at least for the first 4 months of the year or so, is a new drama coming to AMC called The Killing. According to AMC’s website, “This drama ties together three distinct stories around a single murder including the detectives assigned to the case, the victim’s grieving family, and the suspects. Set in Seattle, the story also explores local politics as it follows politicians connected to the case. As the series unfolds, it becomes clear that there are no accidents; everyone has a secret, and while the characters think they’ve moved on, their past isn’t done with them.”

Back in September, AMC came out to my agency to give us an update and had originally planned to screen the pilot of this show for us. Our team, however, having yet to see the pilot of Walking Dead, convinced them to show us THAT one instead. Now that Walking Dead SSN 1 is wrapped up in all it’s glory, I’m anxious for them to come back out and show us what they’ve got for The Killing! I am so not regretting getting cable back (at least, not regretting it while it only costs me $30 a month…)

Here’s a First Look:

So, those are the immediate items coming up to look forward to! I’m sure there are others, but I’ll touch on them separately. Stay warm and safe, everyone- I walked over to Publix over lunch and could not BELIEVE how icy it is right now- I think it’s icier now than I’ve experienced all week- cars are literally pulled into the curb on North because they were sliding down the hill- cops are having to come out sporadically to help people out, and I almost busted it at least five times on my treacherous walk. At least I have havarti and bread now, to make a delicious grilled cheese!

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Looking forward to…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Looking forward to… at whimzeerealm.

meta

